Scientific Advisory Group

Our Scientific Advisory Group (SAG) is composed of 13 scientists from across the US and 5 experts from relevant government agencies, including the DEA, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Food and Administration (FDA) and the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) to advise NDEWS leadership regarding relevant indicators, data harmonization, and interpretation.


Name Title and Organization
Joseph Palamar, PhD SAG Chair, NDEWS CO-I Associate Professor, Department of Population Health, New York University Langone Medical Center
Erin Artigiani, MA Deputy Director, Center for Substance Abuse Research (CESAR), University of Maryland
Georgiy Bobashev, PhD RTI Senior Fellow, Center for Data Science, RTI International
M. Fe Caces, PhD Statistician/Demographer, Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) in the Executive Office of the President
Thomas Carr Executive Director, University of Baltimore Center for Drug Policy and Enforcement; Senior Fellow, George Mason University Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy; Washington/Baltimore High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA)
Dan Ciccarone, MD, MPH Professor, Family Community Medicine, School of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco
Suparna Das, PhD PhD Director, Office of Treatment Services (OTS), Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), DHHS/SAMHSA
Matthew Ellis, PhD, MPE Principal Investigator, RADARS System; Department of Psychiatry, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Jim Hall Epidemiologist, Center for Applied Research on Substance Use and Health Disparities, Nova Southeastern University
Jennifer R. Havens, PhD, MPH Professor, College of Medicine, University of Kentucky
Lee Hoffer, PhD, MPE Associate Professor, Anthropology; Professor, Psychiatry, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Emily Lockhart, MS Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Special Testing and Research Laboratory; Emerging Trends Program
Barry K Logan, PhD, F-ABFT Chief Scientist, NMS Labs; Executive Director, Center for Forensic Science Research and Education (CFSRE)
Amit Sheth, PhD Founding Director, Artificial Intelligence Institute; Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, University of South Carolina
Jana McAninch, MD, MPH, MS Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Farida Ahmad, MPH Mortality Surveillance Lead, Division of Vital Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Katie Witkiewitz, PhD Regent’s Professor, Department of Psychology, University of New Mexico
Julie O’Donnell, PhD, MPH Epidemiologist, Division of Overdose Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Last modified: 03/08/2024

The National Drug Early Warning System (NDEWS) is funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (U01DA051126) to the University of Florida (PI: Cottler; Co-Is: Goldberger, Nixon, Striley), New York University (Co-I: Palamar), and Florida Atlantic University (Co-I: Barenholtz).